Sermons and Books

Sermons preached by Dr. Dwight A. Moody. Dr. Moody is currently as preaching minister for Providence Baptist Church, Hendersonville, NC



Is This of God?  (Acts 10:1-48)

Can I Get a Witness? (Acts 1:12-26)

Harvest Time Has Come (Mark 4:24-35)

The Missing Years (Mark 5:24-43)

What Did They Expect? (Mark 6:1-13)

Who Needs a Prophet? (Mark 6:14-29)

The Algebra of God (Mark 6:14-29)



Funeral: Jack Braden (January 13, 2020)

It’s About Time   (Mark 1: 1-11)

Gateway to Heaven (Genesis 28:10)

Look Who’s Coming to Church (Mark 1:1-6)

The Prepositions of Praise (Colossians 3:16)

Wonders on the Earth (Joel 2:28-32)



Here are four books written by Dr. Dwight A. Moody.

Free and Faithful: Christian Discipleship in the 21st Century 
This was a series of sermons preached by Dr. Moody at Third Baptist Church of Owensboro, Kentucky.  It was published in 1998. It is inspired by (and follows the format of) the influential book by Buddy Shurden, Four Fragile Freedoms.  An epilogue offers reflections in 2018, twenty years after the publication of the book.


On the Other Side of Oddville: Stories of Religion and Everyday Life
For a number of years, Dr. Moody wrote and published in public newspapers around the country a weekly column on Religion and American Life (something he continues to do through this Meetinghouse initiative). This book collects 105 of these 700-word essays. (Thanks to Allan Moody for major help in preparing these essays for publication on this website.)


Its’s About Time: A Memoir of Ministry at Georgetown College
From 1997 to 2008, Dr. Moody served as dean of the chapel and professor of religion at Georgetown College in Kentucky. This is the narrative essay that forms the core of this book. The book also included sermons, prayers, letters, essays, and memos; it can be ordered through Amazon.


Nine Marks of a Good Sermon
During Dr. Moody’s tenure at Georgetown College, he taught a course in “Communication for Ministry” (and popularly called “Preaching). This material was developed during that ministry and continued during his years as founder and first president of the Academy of Preachers. It appears here with significant alterations from the text printed in the book and published in 2015.